Which standards have changed?

The following PRSB standards have been updated in this release. Detailed release notes are available for each standard outlining the changes made. Please use the links below.


The PRSB Standards for the Structure and Content of Health and Care Records have been endorsed by 43 organisations. They are as follows:

  • College of Paramedics
  • Royal College of Emergency Medicine
  • Royal College of General Practitioners
  • Royal College of Midwives
  • Royal College of Nursing
  • Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists
  • Royal College of Occupational Therapists
  • Royal College of Anaesthetists
  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society
  • Royal College of Physicians
  • Royal College of Psychiatrists
  • Royal College of Radiologists (Faculty of Clinical Oncology)
  • Royal College of Radiologists (Faculty of Clinical Radiology)
  • Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Royal College of Surgeons
  • Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
  • Royal College of Pathologists


Specialist societies:

  • Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine
  • Association for Palliative Medicine of Great Britain & Ireland
  • Renal Association
  • Association of British Clinical Diabetologists
  • Association of Cancer Physicians
  • British Society of Rheumatology
  • British Association of Dermatologists
  • British Association of Audiovestibular Physicians
  • British Association of Stroke Physicians
  • British Association of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons (BAPRAS)
  • British Cardiovascular Society
  • British Dietetic Association
  • British Association of Urological Surgeons (BAUS)
  • British Geriatrics Society
  • British Orthodontics Society
  • ENT-UK
  • British Society for Immunology
  • British Society for Gastroenterology
  • British Thoracic Society
  • Royal College of Opthalmologists



  • Institute of Health Records and Information Managers (IHRIM)
  • TechUK